Mission Statement

The purposes of this organization are to advance and enhance mutual interests, to coordinate efforts and exchange information on public agency maintenance methods, the professional and social growth of the members, the promotion of cooperation and communication among all public, quasi-public and private persons, firms, utilities, and agents having interest in the field of public agency maintenance.


The Bay Area Chapter

The Bay Area Counties included in our chapter’s boundaries range from San Francisco and Contra Costa on the north to Monterey and San Benito on the south. Meetings are rotated through the chapter area to simplify transportation problems and to encourage participation.

The Bay Area Chapter was formed in 1961, when six superintendents met to discuss mutual problems and solutions. Soon other agency personnel and vendor representatives recognized the benefits of this interaction and the chapter grew and prospered. In 1965, our group merged with a similar organization in the Los Angeles area and incorporated as the Maintenance Superintendents Association now eleven (11) local chapters with a membership of over 2,000. The Bay Area Chapter’s 2009 roster tops 325. Activities include monthly luncheon meetings with informational workshops sponsorship of educational programs, a variety of social events, and an annual statewide conference and equipment show.

Beverley Copeland Vendor of the Year Award

Frank Wheeler of Municipal Maintenance Equipment (MME), was presented with his 2016 Beverley Copeland Vendor of the Year Award at the SFBA Chapter Christmas lunch by outgoing Chapter President, Shawn Nesgis. Shawn asked Frank to join him at the podium as he introduced Frank and shared his many contributions to the MSA along with the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter.

Jerry D. Scott Superintendent of the Year Award

Dewayne Johnson with the County of San Mateo was presented the 2016 Jerry D. Scott Outstanding Superintendent Award at the SFBA Chapter Christmas lunch by Mile Giles, 2015 Award recipient. Photo of Dewayne Johnson with 2015 Award winner, Mike Giles, and outgoing Chapter President, Shawn Nesgis.